Global Opportunities Fund

Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs written question – answered am ar 14 Rhagfyr 2005.

Danfonwch hysbysiad imi am ddadleuon fel hyn

Photo of Denis MacShane Denis MacShane Llafur, Rotherham

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs if he will list the members of the panel of experts referred to in the Global Opportunities Fund report.

Photo of Douglas Alexander Douglas Alexander Minister of State (Europe)

As part of the Human Rights, Democracy and Good Governance programme of the Global Opportunities Fund, the Foreign and Commonwealth Office convened expert panels to advise on policy and projects relating to all the key themes within the programme (except discrimination—for which there is no expert panel) as follows:

Freedom of Expression Panel

Dr. Agnes Callamard

Nora Cranston

Karen Merkel

Ursula Owen

Anthony Borden

Helen Duffy

Jeremy Dear

Joan Smith

Lucy Popescu

Tina Carr

Gareth Price

Frances D'Souza

Sarah Wyatt

Lindsay Ross

Umit Ozturk

Rodney Finder

Nik Gowing

Peter Preston

Jonathan Freedland

Professor Ivor Gaber

Colin Bickler

Abd al-Rahman al-Rashid

Zahoor Niazi

Mark Stephens

Geoffrey Robertson QC

Mark Thompson

Jock Gallagher

Teresa Gautrey

David Goldberg

Chris Cobb-Smith

John Glendinning

Damian Tambini

Religious Freedom Forum

Barney Leith

Ian Naysmith

Abi Freeman

Wilfred Wong

Michael Bartlett

Ronald Maddox

Charles Reed

Dr. David Royle

IMAM Dr. Abdul Sajid

Iqbal Singh

Assad Rehman

Tina Lambert

Sayeed Nadeem Kazmi

Martyn Eden

Paul Renshaw

Andrew Clark

Dennis Wrigley

Raphael Walden

Dr. Zaki Badawi

Dr. Philip Walters

Dr. Pasha

Paul Cook

Dr. Hany Elbanna

Amanda Van Eck

Camilla Carr

Guy Calvert-Lee

Dr. Agnes Callamard

S. M. Abdul Qayum

Neville Kyrke Smith

Christine Allen

Paul Gillies

Urmi Shah

Prof J. S. Nielsen

Torture Panel

Andrew Coyle

Carla Ferstman

Christine Chinkin

Eric Sottas

Mark Thomson

Mike Kellet

Sir Nigel Rodley

Malcolm Evans

Sherman Carroll

Silvia Casale

Rule of Law Panel

Peter Carter

Jonathan Cooper

Jeremy Croft

Mark Ellis

Paul English

David Harris

Mel James

Roger Smith

Christian Wisskerchen

Child Rights Panel

Abdul Aziz

Judith Baker

Bill Bell

Rachel Bentley

Jonathan Blagbrough

Nick Corby

Jeremy Croft

Philippa Curtis

Simon Dowe

Atallah Fitzgibbon

Victoria Forbes Adams

Jonathan Glennie

Rachel Harvey

Casey Kelso

Adowa Kwateng

George Lane

Gerison Lansdown

Keith MacKenzie

David Maidment

Amira Malik

Baroness Sue Miller

Nasr Muflahi

Jane Oberman

Col O'Neil

Feyi Rodway

Nikhil Roy

Michael Shipler

Fred Shortland

Carron Somerset

Catherine Turner

Helen Veitch

Marie Wernham

Jenny Willott

Carolyn Willow

Wilfred Wong

Death Penalty Panel

Professor Roger Hood

Professor Peter Hodgkinson

Baroness Vivien Stern

Saul Lehrfreund

Ibrahima Kane

Philip Sapsford

Eric Prokosch

Harold Hillman

James Oury

Nicolas Blake

Edward Fitzgerald

Kier Starmer

Professor Nigel Eastman

Professor Philip Iya

Does this answer the above question?

Yes2 people think so

No1 person thinks not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.