Public Bill Committees

Previously called Standing Committees, Public Bill Commitees study proposed legislation (Bills) in detail, debating each clause and reporting any amendments to the Commons for further debate.

There are at least 16 MPs on a Committee, and the proportion of parties reflects the House of Commons, so the government always has a majority.

All bills in this session

Committee membership and attendance (out of 1)


  • Joe Benton (1)


  • Richard Caborn (1)
  • Mrs Diana Organ (1)
  • Baroness Shephard of Northwold (1)
  • Keith Simpson (1)
  • David Taylor (1)
  • Anthony D Wright (1)
  • Richard Bacon (1)
  • Norman Lamb (1)

[ Committee memberships can change partway through ]